State Minimum Wage Increases in 2014

Posted by MattKinney on Oct 28, 2013 11:42:18 AM

Most, if not all of our staffing industry clients pay more than minimum wage; however, for some light industrial or general labor positions it is not uncommon for the pay rate to be just above minimum wage. For 2014, the federal minimum wage will be unchanged at $7.25 per hour for non-exempt employees and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees. However, many states will be increasing their minimum wage on January 1, 2014 which will take precedence over the federal minimum wage. TempWizard users will need to be aware of these minimums to insure that they don’t run afoul of federal or state minimum wage laws. The states are as follows:

Arizona: The minimum wage will increase from $7.80 to $7.90 per hour for non-exempt and from $4.80 to $4.90 per hour for tipped employees on January 1, 2014.

California: California’s minimum wage will increase from $8.00 to $9.00 per hour for non-exempt employees on July 1, 2014 and is also scheduled to increase to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2016.

Colorado: Colorado has only proposed a minimum wage increase for 2014, but it is not yet finalized. The proposal increases minimum wage from $7.78 to $8.00 per hour for non-exempt employees and from $4.76 to $4.98 per hour for tipped employees. BWSI will update this blog once/if the Colorado proposal passes or whatever their minimum wage determination is.

Connecticut: The minimum wage will increase from $8.25 to $8.75 per hour for non-exempt on January 1, 2014. Note that the minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $9.00/hour on January 1, 2015.

Florida: The minimum wage will increase from $7.79 to $7.93 per hour for non-exempt and from $4.77 to $4.91 per hour for tipped employees on January 1, 2014.

Missouri: By state statute the minimum wage adjusts on January 1; however, at the time of this post, no announcements have been made regarding the 2014 minimum wage. BWSI will update once an announcement has been made.

Montana: The minimum wage will increase from $7.80 to $7.90 per hour for non-exempt on January 1, 2014.

New York: The minimum wage will increase from $7.25 to $8.00 per hour for non-exempt on December 31, 2013. The minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $8.75 per hour for non-exempt employees on December 31, 2014, and to $9.00 per hour for non-exempt employees on December 31, 2015.

Ohio: The minimum wage will increase from $7.85 to $7.95 per hour for non-exempt and from $3.93 to $3.98 per hour for tipped employees on January 1, 2014. It is important to note that Ohio has an exemption that the 2014 state minimum wage only applies to businesses with more than $292,000 in gross receipts.

Oregon: The minimum wage will increase from $8.95 to $9.10 per hour for non-exempt on January 1, 2014.

Rhode Island: The minimum wage will increase from $7.75 to $8.00 per hour for non-exempt on January 1, 2014. For tipped employees the wage remains at $2.89 per hour; however the employer’s tip credit increases from $4.86 to $5.11 per hour.

Vermont: By state statute the minimum wage adjusts on January 1; however, at the time of this post, no announcements have been made regarding the 2014 minimum wage. BWSI will update once an announcement has been made.

Washington: The minimum wage will increase from $9.19 to $9.32 per hour for non-exempt on January 1, 2014.

It is important to remember that any changes to the federal minimum wage will supersede any of the state minimum wage laws should the federal minimum wage be higher than the specified state minimum wage. BWSI will continue to keep our blog updated with these changes as they come out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topics: Payroll 101, Human Resources, FLSA

Subscribe To Blog By Email